The Merthyr CC promoted an open 3 up team trial on a course in the Vale of Neath. Good conditions were reflected in the excellent times, with the fastest time of 49m.29s being recorded by a composite team of John Pritchard, Ceri Pritchard and Steve Wilcox, each from a different club. They received the special prize for composite teams, while the race for club teams was won by Colin Wallace, Gerraint Evans and Andy Davies of Port Talbot Wheelers in 50m 45s. 2nd Darren Carpenter, Richard Harris and Dave Bees Cwmcarn Paragon RC 52m.15s. 3rd Terri Davies, Mark Stacey and Darryl Williams Port Talbot Wh. 52m.58s. Abertillery Wheelers, Rhys Rowlands, Ian Davies and Tony Hudson 55m.15s. In the Ogmore Valley Wh. 10 miles Time trial, which was the 3rd counting event of the Welsh CA Magic Dragon TT Series, Dave Keene Bristol South CC was fastest in 22m.22s. 2nd Dan Hunt Science in Sport 22-25, 3rd Dave Thomas www. agiskoviner 23-04. Abertillery Wheelers: Clinton Evans 25-13, Brian Fry 27-38.

In the latest of Abertillery Wheelers Thursday evening 10 miles time trials on the circuit course between Pontypool and Hafodrynys visitor Wayne Dudley set a new course record of 23 m 42 sec; Tony Hudson 24m 30s; Stuart Inch 25m 19s; Ian Davies 25m 42s; Martin Latewood 25m 54s; Clinton Evans 26m 04s; Gareth Chislett 27m02s; Paul Metcalfe 27m 39s; David Evans 27m.46s; Kevin Jones 27m.58s. Wally Ham 29m.17s. and Geoff Rees 30m.46s.

Next Sunday, the Welsh CA will promote the Welsh 25 miles Championships on a course based at Raglan, and using roads to Mitchell Troy and Abergavenny.